Fair Weather Lately

Too often we live in an arena of “what have you done for me lately.”  For example, we remember movies that were a long and drawn out bore, but if the last fifteen minutes are good, then it is fine.  Like the employee who does well for years but fails recently, he seen as a liability.  Relationships that start off hot and heavy then turn dreary and bland, and the blandness prevails over the intense initial passion.  Hard to believe.  We often strike this among fair weather times with fair weather friends.  We even look at ourselves, our mates, our possesions and ask what have you done for me lately.  That no go joyless microwave…Now I am not a fan of nostalgia or antiques, but too often we get caught up in arena and look at the immediate past and not fully incorporating an wholistic objective perspective.  We are overly critical and overly bias.  We attach significance to our behavior and say we are doing it for other’s sake. Self titled kindness. We are attached, what have you done fo ME, I said ME…what haven’t you done…Unfortunately we accept this behavior, sometimes it is even celebrated with enthusiasm. 

 

Well lets forget about that and the next time you find yourself near a jukebox, play this song, it just might inspire you to play another one, or someone else to…  Probably one of the greatest four counts in rock-n-roll.

“Let Live For Today” by the Grass Roots

 When I think of all the worries people seem to find
And how they’re in a hurry to complicate their mind
By chasing after money and dreams that can’t come true
I’m glad that we are different, we’ve better things to do
May others plan their future, I’m busy lovin’ you (1-2-3-4)
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
And don’t worry ’bout tomorrow, hey, hey, hey
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
Live for today
We were never meant to worry the way that people do
And I don’t need to hurry as long as I’m with you
We’ll take it nice and easy and use my simple plan
You’ll be my lovin’ woman, I’ll be your lovin’ man
We’ll take the most from living, have pleasure while we can (2-3-4)
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
And don’t worry ’bout tomorrow, hey, hey, hey
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
Live for today
Baby, I need to feel you inside of me
I got to feel you deep inside of me
Baby please come close to me
I got to have you now, please, please, please
Gimme some-a lovin’, gimme some-a lovin’
Gimme some-a lovin’, gimme some-a lovin’
Baby gimme some-a lovin’
Gimme some-a lovin, I need all your lovin’
Gimme some-a lovin, I need all your lovin’
Give me some love, now
I need all your lovin’
Sha la la la la la
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today
And don’t worry ’bout tomorrow, hey, hey, hey
Sha-la-la-la-la-la, live for today.

About Leo

Taking it one day at a time...
This entry was posted in Life, Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

