In a room where ya do what ya don’t confess

We live in a world of instantanoius gradification.  Instant needs are fullfilled without second thought, due to the demands of the parastic narcissistic consumer.  “I want it now, and now is not quick enough.” Instant popcorn, instant cameras, instant lottery tickets, all offering an instant fix to the instant problem that can easily be solved, with the advertized solution.  Then desposed like a spent condom.  With the only misfortune being the  routine clean up.   No more pennance, no more communinion lines at churchs, but now they are at the convient stores.  The pious plead for deleveriance, heaven on earth. They plead their case of “only if” with their scratch offs and their numbers and hydrogenized filler.  Salvation is just a convient stop along the way by-way of their unconcievablbly compromised lives.

 

I could go on a list of things like that but that is not what is not what is on my mind.  What is on my mind is something that was pointed out about me, and as far as I can tell, shopuld be pointed out in a lot of us…

We are so busy seeking the meaning of it all.  The truth, some absolute keystone that will hold all the other truths in place and be strong like a sheilding arch which we can marvel at the architecture of the it all, while safelly underneath it.  Others look for meaning , they look for sporadic truths, as is they were distant satelites orbiting the earth. Possibly, with  just enough of them, they just my might figure out where they are and where they are heading and the can guide themselves and prepare themselves for what is in store.  Others just need to know, or exhaust themselves searching for clues in books and conversation and music lyrics.  All the while, those who are searching for the meaning of it all or just to get a foot hold of anything, forsake the meaning of everything around them.  Someone once told me life is not a Dylan.   Which is understood, for after all those who seek direction from another’s percepti0n, they iare bound to get something, but that something will not answer everything they see, everything they witness from their vantage point.  Another person once told me they stop trying to figure it all out a long, long time ago.  I have also appriciated days when there is an understanable meaning in everything and every action.  The question is though is it just an instant answer, or an answer that has been there all along.

“If You Could Read My Mind” – Gordon LightFoot

If you could read my mind love
What a tale my thoughts could tell
Just like an old time movie
‘Bout a ghost from a wishin’ well
In a castle dark or a fortress strong
With chains upon my feet
You know that ghost is me
And I will never be set free
As long as I’m a ghost that you can’t see
If I could read your mind love
What a tale your thoughts could tell
Just like a paperback novel
The kind that drugstores sell
When you reach the part where the heartaches come
The hero would be me
But heroes often fail
And you won’t read that book again
Because the ending’s just too hard to take

I’d walk away like a movie star
Who gets burned in a three way script
Enter number two
A movie queen to play the scene
Of bringing all the good things out in me
But for now love, let’s be real
* I never thought I could ACT this way *
And I’ve got to say that I just don’t get it
I don’t know where we went wrong
But the feelin’s gone
And I just can’t get it back

If you could read my mind love
What a tale my thoughts could tell
Just like an old time movie
‘Bout a ghost from a wishin’ well
In a castle dark or a fortress strong
With chains upon my feet
But stories always end
And if you read between the lines
You’ll know that I’m just tryin’ to understand
The feelin’s that you lack
I never thought I could feel this way
And I’ve got to say that I just don’t get it
I don’t know where we went wrong
But the feelin’s gone
And I just can’t get it back

About Leo

Taking it one day at a time...
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

